When viewing search results, we click the cancel button (top
right) to exit the search mode. If nothing is selected in the
search results list, MM goes back to regular view for a given
mailbox. When something is selected, MM retains the selection in
the view. This is fine. However, in the past, we could hold the
option key down when clicking cancel and MM would ignore the
selection. This feature disappeared at some point. Could it be
restored? I sometimes, lately too often, forget to unselect (which
requires an extra cmd-click/s) and then have to scroll to restore
view of the current mails (another extra action). Option-cancel was
a practical, nice and easy escape. It should not be difficult to
program.