When deleting one or more messages using the "Delete Now"
option, a warning box is rightfully presented which asks/states the
following:
Do you want to permanently delete the selected messages?
The messages are immediately scheduled for deletion on the server.
You cannot undo this action!
It is sometimes concerning that other messages may have been
selected, especially if the user only intended to delete a single
message. (The warning is always stated as plural).
It would be nice if this warning uses similar functionality as
Mac OS Finder does with the "Delete Immediately..." menu option. If
a single item is being deleted, it asks if you want to delete that
specific item and actually lists the file name in the warning. The
message subject could be used here in a similar manner. If 2 or
more files are selected, it asks the following:
Are you sure you want to delete the 2 selected items?
2 items will be deleted immediately. You can’t undo this
action.
It is much more comforting to know exactly what or how many
items are being deleted when using this function. This would be a
welcome enhancement in MailMate as well.
Thanks,
Alan