Lighthouse has a new layout. Prefer the old one? Return to the old layout, and switch back any time from the link at the top of each page.

Unintended side effect of "Message list is now automatically re-sorted when changing a sorting-related value."

#2330

Revision 5634
Changed: Message list is now automatically re-sorted when changing a sorting-related value.

I sort my main inbox by "read" and in preferences>viewer have Mark messages read after 0 seconds enabled. This now causes any new message I view to be instantly re-sorted to beneath all the other unread messages (which sometimes is a page or two). Then I have to scroll back up to the top of my inbox to open the next new message I want to view.

Might there be a way to allow selection between the previous and updated message list re-sorting functionality? Another possible solution would be to prevent the currently viewed message from being included in a re-sort.

Reported by Matt Merner · May 28th, 2019 @ 10:08 PM

State: new
Milestone: none
Assigned to: benny benny

Activity

  1. Sean Effel
    Sean Effel

    Yes, since the recent upgrade/release, I find that behavior of the sorting of the active message has changed. Selected unread messages are instantly re-sorted to below the read messages. This is a change from the previous Gmail-like experience of sorting unread messages first until the window is refreshed. At least for me, I leave unread messages as as to-do items, so this this breaks my personal workflow that was once unified across email client and web browser. It also means that accidental spacebar or up/down arrow strokes will mark messages as read and bury them deep.

    June 4th, 2019 @ 12:16 AM

  2. Matt Merner
    Matt Merner

    This issue appears to have been resolved in version 1.13 though is not mentioned in the changelog. Viewed messages are not not re-sorted in the mailbox until you deselect them Thank you Benny.

    October 2nd, 2019 @ 06:10 PM

Please Sign in or create a free account to add a new ticket.

With your very own profile, you can contribute to projects, track your activity, watch tickets, receive and update tickets through your email and much more.