Lighthouse has a new layout. Prefer the old one? Return to the old layout, and switch back any time from the link at the top of each page.

Feature Request: Ability to cancel or abort a reply

#1050

If I am composing a new message, and I regret having started it, I can close the window, and, if I have filled out any information, I will be prompted for whether I want to save a draft of it, or delete it.

However, if I am replying to an e-mail, and I decide I don't want to reply, closing the window automatically creates a draft, with no option to delete. Which means I then have to go to the drafts folder and delete the message.

It seems I can hack my way around this discrepancy in behavior perhaps by tagging the message I want to cancel with "cancel", and then I could set up a mailbox rule in my Drafts folder to delete any drafts tagged cancel.

But that is definitely a work around, and seems unnecessary given that in the case of a new message, MailMate already behaves as it "should" and asks if I want to delete or save.

Can we simply extend the behavior of a new message to the way a reply behaves? Ie, when I close the window on a reply, can I be prompted, as i am for a new messages, as to whether I want to keep or delete the reply?

Reported by klktrk · February 15th, 2015 @ 07:09 PM

State: new
Milestone: none
Assigned to: benny benny

Activity

  1. klktrk
    klktrk

    I'm using 1.8, can't upgrade, and would love to see this feature implemented there as part of the codebase for 2.0, but of course I understand if it can't be.

    February 15th, 2015 @ 07:11 PM

  2. benny
    benny
    • State changed from new to accepted

    The problem is actually the preview in the composer (combined with Markdown or other features changing email structure) and I'm aware of the issue. (Disabling the preview in View ▸ Layout should give you the behavior you want, but that is of course not a satisfying workaround.)

    It's on my todo, but don't expect it for the 32 bit release. Sorry.

    February 16th, 2015 @ 11:05 AM

  3. klktrk
    klktrk

    I'm disabling the preview, as unsatisfactory as this is. Using keyboard shortcuts to try to tag "cancelled" only brings me part of the way since there is no way to "delete" messages in the rules interface for a mailbox, meaning that aborted/cancelled replies end up in the deleted items folder, which is unsatisfactory.

    Thinking through this again, I would probably label this a bug rather than a feature request.

    February 18th, 2015 @ 06:42 AM

  4. benny
    benny

    I do consider it to be a bug. Just one that is not quick to fix.

    February 18th, 2015 @ 08:33 AM

  5. benny
    benny
    • State changed from accepted to fixcommitted

    March 6th, 2020 @ 11:00 PM

  6. klktrk
    klktrk

    @benny Thank you! :) I am looking forward to the next update. Much appreciated.

    March 6th, 2020 @ 11:48 PM

Please Sign in or create a free account to add a new ticket.

With your very own profile, you can contribute to projects, track your activity, watch tickets, receive and update tickets through your email and much more.