#159 ✓fixreleased
Thibaud

opening of a received e-mail when search filters enabled

Reported by Thibaud | June 9th, 2011 @ 10:20 PM

I sometimes make searches in MailMate. Once I found the e-mail (in a search in All Messages) and read it, I can directly close the window of MailMate (without quitting the searching mode).

After this research, if I receive an e-mail shown in the counter and click on it in the counter to read it, here is what happens:
(1) - the MailMate window appears,

(2) - the search mode remains active,

(3) - the selected box shifts froms All Messages to the Inbox which the new message is in,

(4) - the result of the old research appears, applied to the new mailbox selected,

(5) - the message received opens in a new window (mail window)

I would prefer that:
(1) - the MailMate window appears,

(2) - the search mode becomes disabled,

(3) - the selected box shifts froms All Messages to the Inbox which the new message is in,

(4) - [not applicable],

(5) - the message received opens in the main window of MailMate as usual

(2), (4) and (5) have changed.

Of course, I could deactivate the search mode before reducing or closing the window (and not the program) of MailMate but I think it is more convenient to allow the user not to do it and deactivate this search mode automatically when accessing a new mail by the counter since it means the user is no longer interested by its old research. What do you think about it ?

__

Another thing concerning the exit of the search mode: the selected mailbox automatically shifts to All Messages and that is a grat feature. But when exiting this mode, clicking on the (-) close to "Save", it would be better that the selected box shifts back to the previous mailbox selected (before the research).

Comments and changes to this ticket

  • benny

    benny June 9th, 2011 @ 10:26 PM

    I agree. And I have seen this problem myself, but I hadn't realized what
    went wrong.

    Thanks for the detailed report.

  • Thibaud

    Thibaud June 12th, 2011 @ 09:25 PM

    In 2202 release notes is stated: "Close any active mailbox search when closing the messages viewer window. This makes the counter menus more reliable when selecting messages."

    I think it would be even better if it could shift the selected Mailbox to the previous one in the same time :)

  • benny

    benny June 25th, 2011 @ 07:06 PM

    • State changed from “new” to “accepted”

    The ticket state reflects the request to go back to the originally selected mailbox(es).

  • benny

    benny July 1st, 2011 @ 07:22 AM

    • State changed from “accepted” to “fixcommitted”
  • benny

    benny August 3rd, 2011 @ 12:04 PM

    • State changed from “fixcommitted” to “fixreleased”

Please Sign in or create a free account to add a new ticket.

With your very own profile, you can contribute to projects, track your activity, watch tickets, receive and update tickets through your email and much more.

New-ticket Create new ticket

Create your profile

Help contribute to this project by taking a few moments to create your personal profile. Create your profile ยป

Mac OS X email client.

Shared Ticket Bins

People watching this ticket

Pages