move gmail message to another account
-
moiraine
ps. just tried moving with an icloud account, works as expected: moving message M from a folder in account A to B, then M is now present on B and not A.
-
moiraine
update: in the web interface, I had the default setting:
-
When I mark a message in IMAP as deleted: Auto-Expunge on - Immediately update the server. (default)
-
When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder: Archive the message (default)
however, if I choose:
- Auto-Expunge off - Wait for the client to update the server.
and
- When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder: Move the message to the Trash OR Immediately delete the message forever
then moving message from gmail account to some other account, and the message still exists and look normal on the gmail web interface, but in mailmate:
not present in the archive folder
exists and has a red dot in mailmate via sources>(gmail account)>[Gmail]>All mail -
-
benny
As you have seen Gmail can be configured in different ways and MailMate has no way of knowing how it's configured. When moving a message to a secondary account then MailMate:
- Uploads the message to the secondary account.
- When 1. is completed then the email is deleted (expunged) in the original mailbox.
If the Gmail server does things like moving the email to a different mailbox when it's deleted then MailMate isn't notified and it might therefore take some time before it shows up in that mailbox. In theory, you should see the exact same behavior if you hold down ⌥ to use “Message ▸ Delete Now” as you do when moving the message. This might make it easier to experiment.
The red dot is a sign that the email has been marked as
\Deleted, but I'm not sure when this could have happened. MailMate never does this without also expunging it.Make sure you read the manual page on Gmail which tries to explain how it works in MailMate.
If you have a simple series of steps which indicates that MailMate is doing something wrong then I'll naturally be willing to look into it.
- Uploads the message to the secondary account.
-
moiraine
hi, thanks for the reply. I've done some tests and for me now:
- For message that are in inbox or some imap folder (has some gmail label "inbox" or anything), regardless of the gmail setting for expunge (and restarting mailmate after the gmail settings are changed on the web): when I choose “Message ▸ Delete Now” the message always ends up in the All mail/archive folder: not to trash and not immediately deleted/mark for delete (no red dot). Choose " “Message ▸ Delete" and the message ends up in trash.
(This is sort of expected since mailmate send the delete command, and gmail auto expunge it to archive)
- For messages that are already in the all mail/archive (message
that has no gmail labels attached): when I choose “Message
▸ Delete Now”
- the message stay in all mail if web setting = [Auto-Expunge on (default) / When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder: Archive the message (default)];
- if web setting = [Auto-Expunge off & When a message is marked as deleted and expunged from the last visible IMAP folder: Move the message to the Trash OR Immediately delete the message forever]: the message appears normal in gmail web interface and in mailmate: dissappears from the mailbox>archive but in sources>(gmail account)>[Gmail]>All mail, the message exists but has a red dot (marked for delete)
(This is a bit not expected since one would think after Message ▸ Delete Now, mailmate is expected to set the mail as for delete and then expunge it, gmail receives that command and should move it to trash or immediately delete as per the setting when auto-expunge is set to off in the gmail web interface. Not sure if the problem is at gmail's end or mailmate's.)
-
benny
- State changed from new to reproduced
I think most of it is expected behavior. MailMate doesn't know how Gmail is configured and cannot, e.g., rename menu items to reflect what Gmail actually does.
The red-dot issue might be something which I could somehow work around. When I tried to reproduce it though I got a different result. MailMate had it pending for deletion, but it didn't “complete” before I relaunched MailMate.
I'll mark this as reproduced although apparently not quite the same issue.
-
moiraine
Thanks! Could the different result you get due to the hidden preference in Version 1.11.1:
MmDeleteBehavior: moveToDeletedMessages, markAsDeleted, expunge, archive -
benny
I don't think so and certainly only if you have a non-default setting (I use the default which is
moveToDeletedMessages).
Please Sign in or create a free account to add a new ticket.
With your very own profile, you can contribute to projects, track your activity, watch tickets, receive and update tickets through your email and much more.