#1649 new
Robert Brenstein

undo delete message -- sometimes malfunctions

Reported by Robert Brenstein | January 18th, 2017 @ 02:09 PM

It just happen again. The third time this month, so it is seems to be an actual glitch. Unfortunately, or rather fortunately, the "undo delete message" works fine most of the time, so I can't readily reproduce the issue.

A moment ago I was in one of my mailing lists. I read a post, then deleted it. I then changed my mind and decided to undo the deletion. A wrong message was restored into the smart mailbox. When I switched to another mailbox, then reopened previous one, the restored message was gone (as expected since it did not match the mailbox criteria). The message that was supposed to be moved back is still in the trash.

As I said, this is not the first time it happened. I still acted rush and did not write down the details of the wrongly moved message, so I can't figure out where it came from or where it went to.

Comments and changes to this ticket

  • Robert Brenstein

    Robert Brenstein January 19th, 2017 @ 02:23 PM

    It just happened again. I read then deleted a message. I read the next one then deleted it. I changed my mind and undeleted it. The previously deleted message (I mean the first one I deleted) showed back instead of the one I just deleted.

  • benny

    benny January 19th, 2017 @ 02:52 PM

    Does this also mean that it's reproducible?

    It's a bit tricky to debug if I cannot reproduce it. Just following your instructions then it does not happen (but then I would likely also have more reports about this).

    Ah, I think I know what might be involved here. You used the single message window to delete the message?

    (I'm not really sure how well this works with undo (which is window based). A single message window is connected to the mailbox window that it originates from, but maybe this does not always work as expected with deletion of a message.)

  • Robert Brenstein

    Robert Brenstein January 19th, 2017 @ 03:50 PM

    No, it is not reproducible. It malfunctions sporadically and then works as expected.

    There might be correlation with my checking emails after the computer was asleep (while I was changing locations), but it does not happen often enough to conclude that for sure. Of course, undoing delete is nothing that I do all the time.

    Yes, I am deleting messages while viewing them in their own window. The window closes and the message disappears from the list just fine. When I undo (while in the list view), normally, the deleted message is inserted back into the list. Sometimes, however, the wrong message is inserted back.

    May be you should really formally introduce a two-pane layout, so it can be handled more uniformly.

  • Robert Brenstein

    Robert Brenstein January 19th, 2017 @ 08:09 PM

    I think that your hunch about issue having to do with deleting while viewing message in its own window is right. I was cleaning old posts in a forum and I think I noticed a pattern. If delete 3 messages from the list view at once, the Undo menu item says "Undo Delete 3 Messages". If I open another message in its own window to see the content and then delete it from there, the Undo menu item still says "Undo Delete 3 Messages" like it did not notice the deletion. Just to test, I deleted a few more messages from their own windows and the Undo stays unchanged and executing the undo restores those 3 messages I deleted together.

  • Robert Brenstein

    Robert Brenstein September 11th, 2017 @ 09:41 AM

    I have confirm with 100% certainty that this problem is with undo not noticing deletions of messages in a single message view. I am cursing because of it a few times a week, partly at myself, for deleting by mistake, mostly at MM for not letting me simply undo but forcing me to search for the deleted message in trash. I really hope that you convince yourself about utility of having 2-panel view, implementation of which should fix all the problems related to viewing messages in their own window.

  • benny

    benny September 26th, 2017 @ 01:41 PM

    I'm unsure which revision of MailMate you used at this time. Do you still see the issue with the latest public release (r5419+)?

    I'm not sure how a 2-panel view relates to this issue. Maybe I don't understand what you mean by a 2-pane view (I assume it's the same as the standard 3-pane view with the message view disabled in the “View ▸ Layout” menu).

  • Robert Brenstein

    Robert Brenstein September 27th, 2017 @ 11:22 AM

    It remains the same in the current version (5419). By 2-pane view, I indeed mean the 3-pane view with the message view dragged to be zero, so I always view messages in their own separate windows. When I delete a message when viewing it like this, it is not added to the undo tracking, so when I say undo, the last deletion that was done in the list view is undone. It is reproducible 100% (contrary to what I wrote early on when I was mixing different deletion modes).

  • benny

    benny September 27th, 2017 @ 02:50 PM

    • State changed from “new” to “accepted”

    I think I understand the issue now. It fails if the message is no longer selected in the message list when you delete it in the single message window. Is that correct?

    This is a side-effect of how the windows are currently “linked”. I think this can be improved though. I'll look into it.

    [state:accepted]

  • Robert Brenstein

    Robert Brenstein September 27th, 2017 @ 02:59 PM

    That might indeed be the underlaying issue. The message disappears from the mailbox list since my opening it sets the /seen flag and the mailbox is supposed to show only unread messages.

  • benny

    benny September 27th, 2017 @ 03:03 PM

    Hmm, that's an extra twist (compared to what I was thinking of), but I think I could also make this work. I'll keep it in mind.

  • Robert Brenstein

    Robert Brenstein September 27th, 2017 @ 03:11 PM

    I just checked that if I am viewing a message in its own window and that message is in a mailbox which does not check the /seen flag, that is the message remains selected in the mailbox list and is just un-bolded, when I delete this message, that deletion is registered by undo.

  • benny

    benny September 27th, 2017 @ 03:16 PM

    Good, then we have the same understanding of the issue.

    If you marked a message as read directly in the mailbox window then the message would not disappear before the mailbox itself was deselected (this is what I call sticky messages). If I make it behave the same way when using the single message window then you should also get better undo behavior.

Please Sign in or create a free account to add a new ticket.

With your very own profile, you can contribute to projects, track your activity, watch tickets, receive and update tickets through your email and much more.

New-ticket Create new ticket

Create your profile

Help contribute to this project by taking a few moments to create your personal profile. Create your profile »

Mac OS X email client.

Shared Ticket Bins

People watching this ticket

Pages