How to delete messages with rule?
-
benny
- State changed from new to resolved
I'm generally very careful about adding features which permanently delete emails. I think you can “hack” it by moving to “Deleted Messages” twice (although I'm not really sure this is not kind of a bug when used in rules). The second move to deleted messages is currently interpreted as deleting something which is already in “Deleted Messages”. This is interpreted as permanently deleting it.
Maybe it would be better to move them to a separate mailbox which you can more quickly review. Then hold down ⌥ to used “Message ▸ Delete Now” to avoid them being moved to “Deleted Messages”. It's also possible to enable the “Empty Mailbox...” menu item for all mailboxes using a hidden preference.
Let me know if this does not resolve your issue. I'll think about having an explicit rule to do permanent deletes.
Please Sign in or create a free account to add a new ticket.
With your very own profile, you can contribute to projects, track your activity, watch tickets, receive and update tickets through your email and much more.